Fallout Bullshit

Let me start this with saying that I a HUGE fan of Interplay based Fallout 1 and Fallout 2 games. After some time I also enjoyed slightly criticized (and not without a reason) the Fallout Tactics: Brotherhood of Steel game.

After (long ago) trying the Bethesda Fallout 3 I was more then disappointed. I was devastated. Its such a crook of shit that I lack words on how to describe this bullshit in words that are possible to post here.

Its not about 3D view versus typical Fallout view. Its about the mechanics – also Action Points – the ‘balance’ between killing shit in real time versus the Bethesda VATS bullshit, etc.

Fallout on Silver Screen

Recently I tried the Fallout series made by Amazon. I really enjoyed it. Yes, of course its not perfect, it has its flaws, but who is flawless? Nobody.

After chick-chat with my close friend – which recommended that I should again try the ‘new’ Fallout: New Vegas and just try to follow the story – I felt encouraged and literally just tried it.

For most of the time – my Fallout characters tend to use Small Guns or Energy Weapons. Sometimes I do a Unarmed build – but that is not my kind of playing Fallout – no matter how ‘fun’ or effective such build can be.

The same I did with Fallout: New Vegas game – pure Energy Weapons build – along with some Science and Lockpick for other skills.

vermaden_2024-04-16_01-25-19vermaden_2024-04-16_01-25-22vermaden_2024-04-16_17-16-38

Lockpick Bullshit

I understand that each skill has its own value and difficulty to use in the real world – and while I was not able to use Steal at all on the real ‘objects’ – the only thing that accounted for Steal was getting some stuff from random houses/building into Your inventory – I was not able to ‘Steal‘ stuff from a person standing next to me.

… but the thing that raged me the most was the Lockpick skill. On a classic (or original) Fallout 1 and Fallout 2 games its just a skill. You have the skill value on the character side and you have the difficulty of the Lockpick challenge on the door/safe that is next in front of You. A simple test and You either failed, broke the lock or succeeded opening it … but not in Bethesda (and later Obsidian) world.

You need to do some dexterity bullshit (I mean in real life) on each lock … breaking pins … and THIS is the shit that drove me into the ‘fuck it’ attitude.

I really love original Fallout 1/2 series but each time I try to play the Bethesda (and later Obsidian) Fallout games – its just such bullshit.

I like to vote with my money – so I will just stay the fuck away as far as possible from this Bethesda/Obsidian bullshit as possible.

I would rather play original Fallout 1/2 for the 100th time instead of wasting my sanity for the Bethesda/Obsidian pseudo ideas.

You have been warned.

Battle System

… and do not even get me started on the broken as fuck battle system.

EOF

Leave a comment